Back from vacation! Now back to work :)

 

behind-scenes

I haven’t written in a while. Of lately I have other outlets that satisfy my need for a release of words. I have had more people to talk to, and articulate my feelings and theories to, so it feels almost superfluous to write them out. That might be one reason.

Lately, I have been thinking about what I was doing this time last year, and the stark difference always takes me aback. In comparison to last year, I am extremely content and happy, despite having tendencies to complain a bit, which is a natural occurrence in all lives, even if a lucid reason isn’t present.

I have been extremely busy, though. I have been working on a project in Tokyo, and each time I arrive in the Kanto region I feel filled to the brim with gratefulness towards the people I am working with, to the point where it overwhelms me and I often feel compelled to prayers of gratitude and thanks. While I am alone, “Thank you…Thank you..” is always escaping my lips.

Also, I had a two week vacation in Nagano, even though it feels like it had been longer, which isn’t a bad thing. The location I go to in Nagano each year is a unique one. There, time is forever stopped and the only thing that changes are the exteriors of the people that go there. Each time I go, it feels like I had never left, except for the obvious fact that I have gained a year in my life.

I did have a few photo-shoots in Nagano, although not as many as I had intended. I am always distracted there, and it is very hard for me to be creative. I think that the reason for that is because everyday there I find myself surrounded by so many fascinating and fun people, that I would much rather sit talking than photograph.

I think I also work better when I am close to home, and have full control over my surroundings because I know and understand it. As I arrive home, ideas of shoots fill my head, which is odd because when I left for Nagano, it began to empty.

It does feel wonderful to be back home. Since I have been doing a lot of work in Tokyo, several people asked me if I am going to start living there. At the moment, I don’t know if I could. There is something about the Kansai region that I can’t shake. I have spent my whole life here, so I’m sure there is a natural unwillingness to leave one’s home, but I think it is more than that.

Either way! I am definitely excited about the new project. I can’t believe how lucky I am to be surrounded by so many amazing and kind people.

More updates later on 🙂

Much love,

Reylia

Leave a Reply

