On “Persistent Winters”

 

She made her way slowly and deliberately from her dilapidated home to the garden. The house that was built for her no longer gave her protection, but she continued to live there. This place was where all her memories thrived, and she couldn’t give that up for comfort or sanctuary from the chill of winter. But alas! She never knew that her winter would never end, because the very act of residing in that home, haunted by the past, was what caused the winter in her life.

She shivered under her breath, but only from habit now, because no matter where she was, she was cold. As she walked, the snow under her feet crunched underfoot, leaving a melancholy and winding trail stretching behind her.

She was thirsty, so she came to her garden. In this place, the snow collected and melted into the stone bowl, and that is where she quenched her thirst.

She dipped her hands slowly into the near-frozen waters. Her hands shaking until the moment the waters touched her lips. In that moment, she was whole again.

Until tomorrow, there would always be tomorrow.

—-

This picture is a perfect representation of how conceptual photography was like for me in the winter. Stiffly moving through the cold, trying to get something, anything, to quench the thirst I had.  We had this shoot at an old abandoned house, so it was great fun for me imagining the type of people that lived there generations before.

I think that something that this shoot taught me was that you need to explore. If you are an artist, that is a definite must. Most of my pictures are taken at my home station, but there are so many places here that I haven’t seen. Not to mention, despite me being here my whole life, there are so many places in Japan I haven’t been to. I always get excited thinking of the possibilities of finding hidden places filled with beauty. The day I took this, I definitely did.

Also, I was EXTREMELY happy when I found out that it was featured on Vogue Italia. Thank you so much! screenshot2

And thank YOU for reading < 3 Would love to hear any questions or comments you may have : )

Always,

Reylia

http://www.reyliaslaby.com

Reylia Slaby on Facebook

 

 

Leave a Reply

