On “We Were Blinded”

Love-blinded2-smallHave you ever been in love? It is definitely a beautiful experience like no other. As you step into the world you see that it is a magnificent mass of twirling, twisting fabric and leaves. You are empowered, and you feel as if you can do anything just as long as you continue dancing. The light makes it’s way through the leaves of the trees and gently touches the floor and your skin. The world that surrounds you becomes kaleidoscopic and fills your body with it’s resonating energy. The music that plays is the beating of your heart and the whistling wind.

You take your parter’s hand and you are whisked away into a reverie of forevers, dreams, and  “Never let me go”. You are sure that this would be the dance of your life; you can feel it.

But then your partner trips. That’s OK, we all forget the steps sometimes so we forget and forgive and continue to sway and move together. It is hard to pick up the harmony again, but once again you move together as if the beat had never been broken.

But you never realized the one problem during this splendid dance: You are blinded. Through the madness of the moment, you can’t see the person for what they truly are. Their flaws fade away before you eyes in a rose colored fog.

So this is love.

—-

sketchIn my own attempt to describe and understand romantic love, this picture was born. It started in October of 2013, I believe, with a simple sketch. I thought of my previous relationship and how it ended, but also the times in between. When they say that Love is Blind, they really know what they are talking about. It is not anyone’s fault, it is just that sometimes people have different dances. Sometimes too different. So then they end up spinning away from your life. When this happens, you are catapulted into reality and everything becomes a thousand times clearer. Then you ask yourself “What was I thinking?”  But cest la vie, it is in the past.

This idea had been sitting in my sketchbook for about 5 months until it was actually materialised. It gave me a chance to properly plan it out. Also after 5 months, my Photoshop abilities had got to the point where I could manipulate it almost identically to how I saw it in my head (At least this image). It wouldn’t have been the same picture if it had been earlier.

1382790_583131335067238_2139790226_nI then contacted fashion designer Michelle Hebert (http://www.michellehebert.com). Upon viewing her portfolio, I knew straight away that I wanted to work with her, so I sent an email to see if she would be interested in making a gown for this project.  I told her my idea for it, and then off we were. Since this photo was about love, I knew I wanted the dress to be red. But I also wanted it to be long. Really long. She definitely delivered. The dress she designed turned out to be perfect.  I had such a fun time working with Michelle on this collaboration. Also along the way, we became good friends. I’m looking forward future collaborations with this wonderful woman!

For the model, I had my friend Ayumi come in. She has modelled for me before, so I knew that she was the only one for this shoot. She works as a dancer and has the ability to be any character I give her. The guy for the shoot, Araya, was also really great! It was my first time modelling him, but his fun personality made photographing him a pleasure! Bascially, both of them were wonderful!

I was a bit worried about this photo-shoot, because it it quite different from the pieces I normally post. Sometimes I can be scared of exploring my full expression because maybe it won’t look “Fine Art” enough, or that it will deviate from “my style”.  But then I knew that I loved the picture myself, that it expressed the feelings I once had, and that is what matters. Sharing art is about sharing parts of yourself, even the fears you may have. It is about understanding yourself as an artist and person, and inviting people along on your journey.  Thank you all for coming on it with me!

If you have any comments, critiques, or questions, please post them below! I would love to hear what you have to say!

Always,

Reylia

http://www.reyliaslaby.com

Leave a Reply

