Yesterday I Was Kidnapped

Yesterday I was kidnapped. Don’t worry, it was only in my dream. Dreams can sometimes be a mirror into your thought life, and through this I got to understand an important part of myself.

The dream was still fresh in my memory when I woke up, but I couldn’t remember how it happened and I didn’t know exactly who my kidnapper was, but I saw the faces of the people who were also captured. As I looked around I realized one thing. We were all women.

Apparently I had been there one month, and I was struggling endlessly to get out. But one day I decided to turn around. Behind me were a set of stairs laced with hundreds of blue butterflies that lead downwards into a forest. I knew this was the way out. I floated down and beckoned my fellow captives to come with me. We all escaped. I found my family (who apparently didn’t notice I was away) and begged them to call the police.

I started to live my life normally again until later in my dream, I saw two of those same women willingly get back into the car of their captors. I was shocked. I tried to remain hidden just in case they saw me, but I couldn’t understand why they would want to go back to that horrible place.

After I woke up, I asked my sister to look up dream symbols. What does it mean if you are kidnapped?

Kidnap 
To dream that you are being kidnapped denotes feelings of being trapped and restricted. Someone or some situation may be diverting your concentration and your attention away from your goals.

It made sense to me. Recently, I got out of an art block. Of course I have them often, but this one was different. This one was attached to a thought pattern I’ve had for about a year. The feeling of being not good enough. Being quietly obsessed with how people perceive me. That no matter how hard I try, no one will care or understand.

I realized in that moment that that was my kidnapper.

Recently it feels as if I broke out of that pattern of thinking. I may have not rid it of me completely, but it does weigh on me less these days. But like those two woman who got back into the car, it is easy to relapse into negativity. You are doing it to yourself and no one is forcing you to think in that way.

No matter how different we are, we all have similar worries and fears. The desire to be loved and accepted reigns strongly within us. It is natural. But maybe the key is understanding yourself first. I struggled with that idea, because I would often depend on people for confirmation. While that isn’t necessarily bad, there is one person you should never exclude in that group. Yourself.

Leave a Reply

